Bravo for Top Design!

I think I may have been the only straight guy (and Republican for that matter–GO SARAH PALIN!!) that sat down for the season premiere of Bravo’s Top Design last night. Wow! I think I may have found my show.

I’ve been watching Project Runway all season, but have no interest at ALL in getting into fashion or the fashion industry. (Imagine that… something that I actually DON’T want to do!) I admire and am inspired by the artistic expression and creativity of having to make a cocktail dress out of, say, lettuce and tomatoes. Now THAT interests me.

I kept seeing ads for the second season of Top Design and thought I’d give it a try. It’s like Project Runway, but with rooms and furniture. Being a “Visual Designer” I have some interest in interior design and would like to one day add that to my resume, but I’ve got bigger irons in the fire at the moment.

Last night the contestants where grouped into teams and had to design urban lofts in the style of their chosen clients. With a budget of only $2,000 (pennies when it comes to designers who are used to spending that much on a single lamp) each team had just hours to pick out furniture, paint, wall papers, fabrics, floor covering (one team decided to install hard wood flooring upstairs) and accessories to match the style and taste of their client. AND they had to all agree on everything. Oh the drama.

India Hicks is no Heidi Klum, but we can’t have it all, right?

Check it out if you have the chance. It’s on Wednesday nights at 10/9c on Bravo. Watch What Happens.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

